Published: Wed, July 10, 2019
Markets | By Erika Turner

Instagram will Use AI to Stop Users from Posting Hateful Comments

Instagram will Use AI to Stop Users from Posting Hateful Comments

However, you will retain the option to make the comments visible to others if you want.

Instagram is introducing some brand new features to keep people safe and protect them from online bullying.

The new feature allows users to review comments and decide their visibility before they're displayed.

The social media network announced two new features on Monday created to combat negative interactions on the popular app.

English-speaking Instagram users will have the new tool first, but the company plans to make it available to users globally in the future, reported the BBC.

Multimillionaire Jeffrey Epstein Charged With Sex Trafficking
Epstein escaped serious federal charges on his alleged proclivities in 2007, but it seems the chickens have come home to roost. Acosta reportedly oversaw the agreement and has since defended the plea deal as appropriate under the circumstances.

There have been growing calls around the world for greater oversight of platforms like Facebook and Twitter, amid widespread criticism over bullying, as well as the spread of hate speech and fake news. He also added that "From early tests of this feature, we have found that it encourages some people to undo their comment and share something less hurtful once they have had a chance to reflect". When you use this feature on a user, only they will be able to see their comments after they post them and they will have no idea that other people aren't seeing them. Now, in an attempt to curb bullying on on Instagram, the company is trying out a new AI-powered feature.

In addition to that, Instagram has already put an offensive comment filter in place that automatically screens bullying comments concerning a person's appearance, or even threats to a person.

Adam Mosseri, head of Instagram, admitted the company "can do more" to help stop bullying on the platform in a blogpost explaining the new features. Apparently, Instagram tested the feature and the company learned that some people actually made a decision to undo their comment and post something less hurtful once they had a chance to reflect. Personally, I find this one more useful because it puts you in control. The restricted person won't be able to see when you're active on the platform, or when you've read their direct messages.

The company said young people are often "reluctant to block, unfollow, or report" bullies for fear of escalating the incident. "Some of these actions also make it hard for a target to keep track of their bully's behavior".

Like this: