Published: Sun, May 05, 2019
Tech | By Constance Martin

Google's new feature makes it easier to hide your location history

Google's new feature makes it easier to hide your location history

Google announced a new feature to allow users of its online services to delete automatically data collected by the company on their activities. As a middle ground, Google today declared that you can now auto-delete your location history and web and app activity by setting a time limit for to what extent Google can save this information.

Google is to offer users the option of automatically deleting their search and location history after three months.

This feature will apply to data obtained from Google's Location History feature that records the places you visit, your Chrome browsing history, and search queries made in Google Maps. According to the tech giant, Location History is a Google product that is entirely opt in, and users have the controls to edit, delete or turn it off at any time.

Customers may enable auto-delete to have data deleted automatically when it reaches a certain age.

Julian Assange gets 50 weeks' porridge for breaching bail
Wikileaks founder Julian Assange was sentenced by a London court on Wednesday to 50 weeks in jail for skipping bail. There is no longer an active investigation in Sweden and the extradition request has lapsed.

You can choose between a three-month of 180-month purge. Thanks to its own share of controversy, investigations, and lawsuits, Google at least has clear and easy methods to erase some, not all, of that data. But Google didn't say whether or when its new auto-delete function will be available for any other specific categories of data, such as YouTube search and watch history, or voice recordings from Google Assistant requests.

Google of course is already facing a lawsuit in the United States for allegedly tracking phone users regardless of privacy settings.

In response, Google has been progressively making changes to its otherwise nebulous data collection protocols, giving users more power over the private information the company stores. To be fair, it took Google a few years and iterations to finally give a simpler interface to check what data it collects and, if desired, stop it. Although this is helpful at times, but for the most part, a lot of people are paranoid by the fact that their personal data is always constantly being looked upon.

Facebook is rolling out a "secret crush" feature to let users express interest in their friends.

Like this: