Published: Mon, April 15, 2019
Sports | By Brett Lawson

Practice zing - Drive by Z. Johnson doesn't count

Practice zing - Drive by Z. Johnson doesn't count

American Zach Johnson is a two-time Major victor and one of the best golfers on the planet.

Johnson stepped onto the 13th tee box confidently with driver in hand looking to shake off his second bogey in six holes, but on a practice swing, he accidentally caught a piece of his golf ball. As Johnson steps forward to take his practice swing, he accidentally connects with the ball, sending it straight into the adjacent tee marker. Under USGA rules, Johnson was allowed to re-tee without penalty because it was not intentional.

Zach Johnson, a two-time major victor who won the green jacket in 2007, just shanked a shot at the par-5 13th. "That's a first. I thought I'd done it all, but now I know I've done it all".

"Oh sh*t", was the immediate reaction from Johnson, known universally as perhaps the golfer least likely to drop a four letter word on the course.

Anthony Crolla: Briton loses to Vasyl Lomachenko in Los Angeles
Crolla dropped to 34-7-3 as he landed just a handful of punches and only survived the third round because of the bell. Lomachenko used the first round as a feeling out round but then went on the full offensive in the second round.

Despite the mishap, Johnson is positive that it was one-off, adding: "I don't think I could do it again if I even tried". He finished with a birdie on the par-5 13th, which moved him to 1 under on the afternoon.

According to a new rule, because there was "no intent" to hit the ball, Johnson does not receive a penalty on the hole.

The 2007 Masters champ let out an "oh, s-t" after contact and turned to playing partners, Matt Kuchar and Ian Poulter, to find out what the protocol was.

Like this: