Published: Sat, November 17, 2018
Sports | By Brett Lawson

Mets' deGrom makes Cy Young history

Mets' deGrom makes Cy Young history

Tampa Bay Rays left-hander Blake Snell and New York Mets right-hander Jacob deGrom were named the winners of the Cy Young Award in the American and National League, respectively, the Baseball Writers' Association of America announced on Wednesday.

DeGrom's ERA is the sixth-lowest by a Cy Young victor, regardless of league. Snell, meanwhile, topped Justin Verlander of the Astros and Corey Kluber of the Indians in the AL.

Mets ace Jacob deGrom pitches in the first inning against the Red Sox at Fenway Park on September 16, 2018, in Boston. Severino is the first Yankee to get Cy Young votes in back-to-back years since (who else?) CC Sabathia, who had three straight top four finishes in the voting from 2009-11.

The 25-year-old lefty was 21-5 with a 1.89 ERA and led all major league starters with a.178 batting average allowed - the fifth lowest ever for a starter and lowest since Pedro Martinez's record.167 average in 2000. The three-time Cy Young victor went 18-7 with a 2.53 ERA in 33 starts. He also ended the year with 24 straight quality starts which is the longest single-season streak in Major League Baseball history. deGrom's quality start streak is the third longest overall in Major League Baseball history (Bob Gibson, 26 straight, 1967-1968). Taking nothing away from the 2017 rookie of the year and possibly a future MVP, but I'll take deGrom's consistent quality starts that makes a team feel like they already won the game before it started. Not only did deGrom cement himself as the best player on the Mets, in 2018 deGrom arguably became the best player in NY. Scherzer had the other first-place vote. He was highly regarded as a minor leaguer for his electric arsenal, but subpar control led to struggles during his first two major league seasons.

Couple, homeless man charged with faking story that earned $400K in donations
Burlington County Prosecutor Scott Coffina is planning a news conference Thursday afternoon. GoFundMe told the prosecutors that it will work to refund money to anyone who donated.

Philadelphia Phillies ace Aaron Nola put together a Cy Young Award worthy campaign in 2018.

His 180 2/3 innings are the fewest for a Cy Young-winning starting pitcher in a nonstrike season.

Snell is the second Rays pitcher to win the award, following David Price in 2012.

Like this: