Published: Mon, October 08, 2018
Global Media | By Garry Long

Winner Emerges In PDP Presidential Primary Vote

Winner Emerges In PDP Presidential Primary Vote

Abubakar comes from the Muslim-majority north, and his nomination follows an unwritten rule in Nigeria that the presidency should alternate every two terms between a candidate from the north and south.

Some Nigerians have however criticised the choice of candidates by saying none of those mentioned deserves to fly the party's flag at the presidential race. "I am convinced that you have all it takes to take Nigeria to greater heights and transform her into a hub for prosperity and happiness", he said.

The Waziri Adamawa paid tribute to Obasanjo on Sunday while giving his acceptance speech at the PDP convention venue in Port-Harcourt, Rivers state.

Tambuwal came behind Atiku with 698 votes.

Coming a distant third was the President of the Senate, Dr. Abubakar Bukola Saraki.

Some of Mr Abubakar's challengers have conceded defeat and congratulated him as well.

Man City fullback Walker: I'd rather mark Salah than Aguero
Former England star, Michael Owen, has predicted the scoreline of the Premier League game between Manchester City and Liverpool . Trent Alexander-Arnold has had a good start to the season with Liverpool , but at times his youth has got the better of him.

Speaking at the PDP Convention, Saraki described the primary election as free and fair, while commending the National working committee of a peaceful exercise.

"We are with you and confident that with us as a team May 29 2019 will be a day that our party will take over".

Others were former Governor of Sokoto State, Attahiru Bafarawa, 48; Governor of Bauchi State, Ibrahim Dankwambo, 111; former Governor of Kaduna State, Ahmed Makarfi, 74; and former Governor of Kano State, Rabiu Kwankwaso.

Nigerians on social media are trolling the Senate President for not winning the primary election after putting in some much efforts.

Earlier in August, the 56-year-old declared an intention to contest in the 2019 presidential election under the umbrella of the People's Democratic Party (PDP).

Like this: