Published: Sun, September 02, 2018
Sports | By Brett Lawson

City wary of Shakhtar threat as European reunion looms

City wary of Shakhtar threat as European reunion looms

The final will take place in Madrid on the 1 June 2019 at the Wanda Metropolitano.

Premier League champions Manchester City were drawn in Group F alongside Shakhtar Donetsk, Lyon and Hoffenheim.

Barcelona head a tough-looking Group B with Tottenham, plus former champions PSV Eindhoven and Inter Milan, while three more former European champions Bayern Munich, Benfica, Ajax are together with underdog AEK Athens in Group E.

"Group C, which has Paris Saint-Germain, Napoli and Liverpool, is also a group that any two of these three teams can qualify from, but I sense PSG and Liverpool will go through, even though Napoli are also a very good side". They drew Real Madrid, CSKA Moscow, and Viktoria Plzen in a group that they should be able to advance out of. However, Manchester United, Valencia, and Young Boys will provide a tough first test to get through.

The group stage begins on September 18, with two clubs from each group advancing to the knockout stage.

Teams from the same country could not be drawn together and teams from Ukraine and Russian Federation were also kept apart due to ongoing political tensions.

Last season's runners-up Liverpool, big-spending French league champions Paris St Germain and Carlo Ancelotti's Napoli were thrown together in the pick of the groups while holders Real Madrid must face last season's semi-finalists AS Roma.

Charges dismissed against 3 in compound case
Wahhaj and Leveille could be held for up to five days pending a hearing on whether they can be held without bond pending trial. His father, Siraj Ibn Wahajj, had kidnapped him from Clayton County, Georgia after returning from a trip to Saudi Arabia.

The new system could cut down on the number of one-sided contests which have spoiled the group stage in recent seasons.

Eredivisie champions PSV Eindhoven and Inter Milan complete the line-up in Spurs' Group B and Red Star Belgrade are the other team to play Jurgen Klopp's side in Group C.

The manner in which Mourinho set up his team to face Sevilla last season over two legs suggested he doesn't believe his current squad can compete for the major prizes. After meeting with the Germans, the locals will have to stay in Lyon, then the miners have two games with Manchester city, to be followed by a trip to Hoffenheim.

The awardees were selected after being voted by Champions League coaches and invited journalists in Europe.

Group A: Atletico Madrid, Borussia Dortmund, Monaco, Club Brugge.

Lokomotiv Moscow, seeded in the top spot as Russia's champion, will play Porto, Schalke and Galatasaray in Group D.

Like this: