Published: Sun, May 06, 2018
Entertaiment | By Minnie Bishop

Nobel Prize in Literature will not be awarded

Nobel Prize in Literature will not be awarded

The Swedish Academy said in a statement last month that it was suffering a serious crisis and acknowledged that trust in the institution, established by King Gustav III in 1786 and still under royal patronage, had been undermined. This year's literature laureate will be announced in 2019, the academy said.

The decision was made after a series of sexual assault allegations were made against Jean-Claude Arnault, the husband of academy member Katarina Frostenson. They both run a separate cultural forum, which received funding from the academy. In November, the Swedish newspaper Dagens Nyheter reported that eighteen women had accused a man connected to the Swedish Academy of sexual harassment and assault, behavior that apparently began at least twenty years ago. It is also alleged that he touched Sweden's Crown Princess Victoria inappropriately at a Swedish Academy event in 2006.

Bjorn Hurtig, the lawyer for Arnault, 71, has denied the allegations, telling The Associated Press that his client is the victim of "a witch hunt" and the claims "may only have the objective of harming" him.

The revelations caused deep rifts within the organization. When its permanent secretary Sara Danius ordered a probe, she was eased out of her position, which triggered a fresh round of anger. A number of members of the academy have left in protest. The conflict has led to eight Academy members leaving their chairs. This time is unique, as the suspension is related to the credibility of the Swedish Academy, or lack thereof.

The Nobel Prizes for other categories are not impacted by this decision, and will go ahead as planned later this year.

Trump says he'd 'love to' speak to Mueller in Russian Federation probe
He's seen a lot of them. "He's working arduous studying the subject material, and he's going to be issuing an announcement too", Trump added.

The Academy only awards the prize for literature, so other Nobel Prizes are not affected.

Instead, the academy is set to award two prizes in the following year, one for 2018 and one for 2019. Arnault was also accused of leaking the name of the victor in advance at least three times.

'We think that it is necessary to take time to recover public confidence in the Academy before the next victor can be announced, ' he pointed out. The scandal created a rift among members of the organisation. This is due to a severe internal crisis in the Academy that has been going on for several weeks now.

The scandal is the biggest to hit the prize since it was first awarded in 1901. Its inception followed the death of Alfred Nobel in 1896.

The decision to postpone the prize this year was reached at a meeting in Stockholm. Past winners include Bob Dylan (2016), Doris Lessing (2007) and Samuel Beckett (1969).

Like this: