Published: Thu, January 18, 2018
Sports | By Brett Lawson

Post U-19 WC incident, Jones slams ICC for 'obstruction law'

Post U-19 WC incident, Jones slams ICC for 'obstruction law'

And now, in the ongoing World Cup in New Zealand, they have sparked the spirit-of-cricket debate by claiming the wicket of South Africa U-19 opener Jiveshan Pillay for obstructing the field.

The incident that occurred in the 17th over of the first innings when Pillay, after defending the ball, turned back to stop it from rolling onto the stumps and then proceeded to pick it up and pass on to the wicketkeeper.

Emmanuel Stewart's arrival was followed by an increase in intensity from the South African pacers, who clearly wanted the Windies captain to pay for his obstruction appeal.

The on-field officials consulted the third umpire before Pillay was adjudged dismissed as per Law 37.4 of the MCC rules.

This is the second under 19 World Cup in a row that a young West Indian cricketer has tarnished the West Indies hard won reputation for fairness and principled competitiveness in how our regional team plays the game of cricket.

Japanese city issues fugu fish alert
Its skin and liver may contain tetrodoxin, a poisonous chemical which can kill a human in less than 24 hours. Chefs also need a special permit to prepare and serve the fish at restaurants.

South African senior men's team skipper Faf du Plessis termed the decision "absolute joke, not in spirit of the game".

At the U19s World Cup two years ago, with Zimbabwe nine down and needing three runs off the final over, bowler Keemo Paul pulled off a "Mankad" to end the game.

West Indies bowlers grabbed their first wicket at the 56 runs mark and the dismissal of Jiveshan Pillay, for a call of obstruction due to a handled ball for 47, saw the momentum swing towards the Caribbean side.

"This is an unfortunate issue", Bishop told Fox Sports. The ball has stopped. The batsman is not trying to gain an unfair advantage. After a long discussion, the on-field umpires, Ahsan Raza and Langton Rusere, referred the matter to third umpire Ranmore Martinesz, who upheld the appeal following a series of replays. West Indies eventually went on to win the title. He is not trying to being unfair. It's not threatening the stumps. I think we did that putting 430 on the board, and to go out and bowl like we did today, we were really happy. His tweet read, "This is a absolute joke...not in the spirit of the game.I have done this nearly a 100 times". It could take a re-look. I wouldn't have gone that way. Tonder also said that it is not the way they play back at home.

Like this: