Published: Fri, October 20, 2017
Global Media | By Garry Long

Ex-CM Dhumal on BJP final list for HP polls

Ex-CM Dhumal on BJP final list for HP polls

A leader privy to the screening committee meeting told HT on the condition of anonymity that Virbhadra Singh could take final decision on Arki after meeting senior leaders in Delhi tonight.

Prem Kumar Dhumal, two-time chief minister and current leader of the opposition is contesting from a new seat, Sujanpur.

The 03 BJP women who will contest the Himachal Pradesh 2017 polls as BJP candidates are Shashi Bala from Rohru, Kamlesh Kumari from Bohranj and Reeta Dhaman from Indora.

Interestingly Chief Minister Virbadhra Singh changed his seat from Shimla (rural) to Arki in Solan district.

Earlier in the day, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) released a list of 68 candidates for the election. Dhumal had won by only 9,500 votes from Hamirpur in 2012.

2 officers involved with United dragging incident fired
The third officer was accused of making "material omissions in a report regarding the first" officer's forceful removal of Dr. It also found that the sergeant removed facts from the employee report about the incident , The Chicago Tribune reported.

Among the nine constituencies where candidates are yet to be announced include Theog, which is represented by veteran leader and minister Vidya Stokes, who has chose to withdraw from electoral politics citing her advanced age; She will turn 89 in December. If the Congress wins, it would be his seventh term as the chief minister.

The BJP has also fielded Maheshwar Singh, whose Himachal Lokhit Party had earlier merged with the saffron party. This is because Union minister and Rajya Sabha MP J.P. Nadda, Dhumal's potential rival for the CM's chair, does not even feature on the list of candidates.

The contest from Sujanpur seems interesting this time as the Congress has fielded Rajinder Rana, who knows the Dhumal family inside out.

The filing of nomination is scheduled to begin on October 16 and conclude on October 23.

Vijay Jyoti Sen, sister-in-law of Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh's wife Pratibha, and former Congress leader Pawan Nayyar have been given tickets from Kusumpti and Chamba. The list also includes Rajeev Bindal from Nahan and Narinder Bragta, who had lost to Rohit Thakur of the Congress in 2012, from Jubbal-Kotkhai.

Like this: