Published: Mon, September 04, 2017
Global Media | By Garry Long

Former IAS officer Alphons Kannanthanam appointed a MoS in ministry of IT

Former IAS officer Alphons Kannanthanam appointed a MoS in ministry of IT

Meanwhile, Kummanam and Surendran are of the opinion that induction of Alphons Kannanthanam into the council of ministers is Prime Minister Narendra Modi's Onam gift to the people of Kerala.

Kannanthanam said that he is surprised to get a new position and was not expecting this.

Kannanthanam was known as the "Demolition Man" for having ordered razing of thousands of illegal constructions when he was heading the Delhi Development Authority.

The tourism ministry went to Kerala's bureaucrat-turned-politician K Alphons in the Union Cabinet reshuffle on Sunday.

Alphons becomes the second BJP leader from Kerala to get a berth in the union cabinet after O Rajagopal, who was a Minister of State in the Atal Bihari Vajpayee government (1999-2004).

Apart from the mandate of the Digital India campaign, the ministry of electronics and IT is also leading the digital payments campaign of the government.

Reality didn't meet the hype for Maria Sharapova
The Russian had had to battle through earlier rounds and made 51 unforced errors in the fourth-round defeat. Meanwhile, 28th seed Kevin Anderson overcame Paolo Lorenzi 6-4 6-3 6-7 (4) 6-4 to reach the quarter-finals.

Kannanthanam began his political career by becoming an independent MLA with the support of the Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M) in Kerala in 2006.

Of the nine who took oath today is Alphons Kannanthanam from Kerala.

Sitharaman has been promoted to the cabinet while Puri and Kannanthanam became Ministers of State. Finance Minister Arun Jaitley has been holding additional charge of defence since Manohar Parrikar was sent to Goa as the Chief Minister in March. Ex-power minister been given the Railway Ministry Ex-power minister been given the Railway Ministry from Suresh Prabhu.

Prabhu, who resigned as Railway Minister following a series of train accidents, has been moved to Minister of Commerce and Industry.

Three of the BJP MPs being inducted - Kumar, Hegde and Shekhawat - are from Madhya Pradesh, Karnataka and Rajasthan respectively where Assembly polls are due next year.While Virendra Kumar represents the Tikamgarh constituency of Madhya Pradesh in the Lok Sabha, Hegde is a five-time Lok Sabha MP from Uttara Kannada in Karnataka. A 1980 batch Maharashtra cadre IPS officer, he retired as the Mumbai Police chief.

Like this: