Published: Tue, August 29, 2017
Global Media | By Garry Long

Parrikar wins Panaji, AAP retains Bawana

Parrikar wins Panaji, AAP retains Bawana

Panaji: Goa Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar today won Panaji bypoll defeating his nearest rival All India Congress Committee Secretary Girish Chodankar.

With many surveys claiming that AAP's popularity has taken a dip, the Bawana by-election result was being seen as a defining test for the party as well as its leader and Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal.

Bawana is one of the Capital's largest constituencies in terms of number of electors, but the August 23 bypoll but saw only a meagre turnout of 45 per cent. Chander won by over 55,000 votes.

BJP's Vishwajit Rane retained the Valpoi seat from which he had been elected earlier this year on a Congress ticket only to resign and join the BJP. Anand Shirodkar of Goa Suraksha Manch was another candidate to watch out for in the election which was held on 23rd August, however, Anand did not give a tough fight to the other 2 candidates in the constituency. AAP's Ram Chander defeated his nearest rival from the BJP, Ved Prakash, an AAP turncoat.

Chelsea 'increasingly confident of Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain deal'
Sky claim that Chelsea are ready to improve their offer of £30M, which was made earlier this month. Oxlade-Chamberlain is one of three key Arsenal players whose deals run out next summer.

AAP spokesperson Nagender Sharma tweeted, "Big takeaways from Bawana: Myth spread by political pandits that AAP only does well at the cost of Congress has been firmly busted.West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee also congratulated her Delhi counterpart". The by-election was held following the demise of TDP MLA Bhuma Nagi Reddy in March.

Goa CM Manohar Parrikar won the Panaji seat.

Bawana bypoll was necessitated after the resignation of Ved Prakash as the legislator in March. He had resigned in November 2014 to join the Union Cabinet as Defence Minister. Rane had resigned as MLA after leaving the Congress. All three parties have exuded confidence about winning the Assembly seat. Congress' Surender Kumar bagged 31, 919 votes. TDP's Reddy won Nandyal assembly seat by defeating YSR Congress rival S. Mohan Reddy by over 27,000 votes.

In the 70-member Delhi Assembly, the AAP has 65 MLAs, the BJP four whole Congress is hoping to open its account in the House by winning this seat.

Like this: