Published: Mon, August 28, 2017
Sports | By Brett Lawson

India vs Sri Lanka 2017: 3rd ODI, 5 talking points

India vs Sri Lanka 2017: 3rd ODI, 5 talking points

Chamara Kapugedara, who is leading the Sri Lankan side in place of Upul Tharanga, and Virat Kohli seemed to have their respective wish granted. Rahul got out after scoring 4 runs off 6 balls.

Tharanga, as skipper, copped two suspension points, which equates to a ban of one Test, two ODIs or T20Is, whatever comes first.

For the hosts, Lahiru Thirimanne was the top scorer as played a fine knock of 80, which included five boundaries and a six.

Apart from Thirimanne and Chandimal, no other batsman applied themselves sensibly and thus were dismissed on sloppy shots.

Also, the experienced men in Sri Lanka like Chandimal, Angelo Mathews and Lasith Malinga should bring in all their right skill to win this match.

India's Jasprit Bumrah was devastating with the ball against Sri Lanka in Pallekele.

Kushner says freezing construction in West Bank will harm Netanyahu
USA officials have said that they have not ruled out a two-state solution but that it is up to the two sides, not them, to agree on a way forward.

The two teams will now lock horns in the fourth ODI to be played at the R. Premadasa Stadium, Colombo on August 31.

Skippered by the shrewd Mahela Jayawardena, Sri Lankan authorities ensured the Indian media could only shoot Mendis bowl in practice from the side. The mini-experiment failed spectacularly, but because of MS Dhoni and Bhuvneshwar Kumar, India managed to scrape through.

The youngster then sent the stumps of Akila Dananjaya and Milinda Siriwardana flying with his deadly accuracy to claim his first ever five-wicket haul in ODI's and becoming only the first Indian to do so in the last three years as he finished with brilliant figures of 5-27.

After a 2-day gap, Sri Lanka will see 2 forced changes which could also be a blessing in-disguise for the hosts who will fight to stay alive in the series.

A change in batting order nearly cost India the second ODI against Sri Lanka before it scraped through but Virat Kohli said he has no regrets about his decision as any skipper would have wanted to give a chance to other batsmen in that situation.

India: Virat Kohli (capt), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Manish Pandey, Ajinkya Rahane, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Shardul Thakur.

Like this: