Published: Tue, July 18, 2017
Markets | By Erika Turner

'Special pens' used by Election Commission in presidential polls: Know more

'Special pens' used by Election Commission in presidential polls: Know more

The counting of votes will take place on July 20 in New Delhi after all the ballot boxes have been brought from various state capitals.

Ram Nath Kovind, former Governor of Bihar, was announced as the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)-led NDA's candidate for the post of President of India by BJP president Amit Shah on June 19 2017.

The people of the Sovereign, Socialist, Secular, Democratic and Republic India do not elect its own president directly.

"This is possibly the highest voter turnout". All the MLAs and MPs should vote for who their conscience speaks for.

# Each MLA vote comes with a certain value that is calculated on the basis of population of the state.

# Nominated members are not allowed to cast their votes. Ballot papers are of two colours-green for MPs and pink for MLAs.

Moreover, UP CM Yogi Adityanath, former Union Railway Minister Dinesh Trivedi are among 41 Lok Sabha members who have been permitted to vote in their states by the EC in the polls. BJP has 161 MLAs, Congress 24, four of NPP, two each of Zamindara Party and BSP, and seven independent.

Brexit talks begin in earnest with citizens' rights in focus
The second round of Brexit negotiations kicks off on Monday (17 July) in Brussels , focusing on the key issues of the divorce agreement.

In Nagaland, out of sixty MLAs, fifty nine MLAs voted in the Presidential polls in the state Legislative Assembly at Kohima today.

As many as 3,460 members of parliament and members of legislative assemblies have declared assets worth more than Rs. 1 crore.

Voting is in Parliament House and respective state assemblies between 10 am and 5 pm on July 17.

Panaji: Voting for the presidential election is underway at the Goa secretariat at Porvorim today morning with chief minister Manohar Parrikar among those to cast votes in the first one hour.

The polling for presidential polls began at 10am on Monday and will go on till 5pm.

In a speech about the election, Congress chief Sonia Gandhi said, "This election represents a clash of ideas, a conflict of disparate values".

Assistant Returning Officers and Authorized Agents of the contesting Presidential election candidates were also present during the election process. The recent political updates of the political leaders of non-NDA parties namely AIADMK, YSRCP, JD (U), BJD, TRS, INLD and IND have expressed their stand to support the candidate of NDA.

Like this: