Published: Sun, July 16, 2017
Entertaiment | By Minnie Bishop

Women's WC: New Zealand win toss, put India to bat

Women's WC: New Zealand win toss, put India to bat

New Zealand have crumbled for a paltry 79 against India to exit the women's cricket World Cup in miserable fashion. "We know that if we beat India on Saturday, then we get to stay here". They had beaten Ireland by a 249-run margin in an ODI in May this year, which is their biggest margin of victory. Left-arm slow bowler Rajeshwari Gayakwad, playing her first match of the World Cup, was wrecker-in-chief as she scalped a five-wicket haul to dismantle White Ferns to their lowest total in World Cup.

The White Ferns' 186-run loss in Derby leaves them fifth in the group stage while India advance to the semi-finals for the first time, where they will face Australia. We have seen a lot of match winning performances in this event as usual.

After Katey Martin was dismissed for 12, Amy Satterthwaite (26) and Sophie Devine (7) got New Zealand through to 51-3 in the 18th over before New Zealand lost their final seven wickets for just 28 runs.

Mithali Raj (captain), Ekta Bisht, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Jhulan Goswami, Mansi Joshi, Harmanpreet Kaur, Veda Krishnamurthy, Smrti Mandhana, Mona Meshram, Shikha Pandey, Poonam, Nuzhat Parween, Punam Raut, Deepti Sharma and Sushma Verma.

What's Dividing Republican Senators on the Health Care Bill
McConnell in a statement said he hopes the delay will give lawmakers time to act on legislation and took a swipe at Democrats . Ben Sasse, R-Neb., also plans to dig into the new proposal as soon as it's released, according to spokesman James Wegmann.

Mithali Raj believes that her team has the ability to play a better game and has demanded improvement. Against Australia when she went at a strike rate of just over 60 runs per 100 balls, it was not because of want of ability to score quickly but because the situation demanded so.

2 Hundreds by Raj in the World Cup - the joint-highest by a captain. There were two vital stands, with Harmanpreet and Veda. Sky Sports will have live coverage of he match in the United Kingdom and New Zealand. England's Charlotte Edwards has also won three.

Mithali has been in good form all along the tournament.

Like this: