Published: Sun, April 16, 2017
Entertaiment | By Minnie Bishop

Russia says it won't broadcast Eurovision Song Contest

Russia says it won't broadcast Eurovision Song Contest

The motto of the 2017 Kyiv Eurovision song contest is "celebrating diversity". Ukraine sees the peninsula as occupied territory.

Russia's contender Yulia Samoylova was barred from the country for three years last month because she had toured in Crimea in 2015 after it was annexed by Russian Federation.

The union, which produces Eurovision, said it had offered two possible solutions to Channel One.

A statement from the EBU read: "Unfortunately this means Russian Federation will no longer be able to take part in this year's competition".

Italy is the one to beat at the forthcoming Eurovision Song Contest according to the betting houses, fan polls and Eurovision gurus.

Samoylova suffers from spinal muscular atrophy and has been in a wheelchair all her life but went to make a name in show business as a 2013 X Factor finalist in Russian Federation, also performing in the opening ceremony of the 2014 Sochi Winter Paralympics.

Allardyce admits Tottenham, Man City target could leave in the summer
That's for all 92 clubs. "We only had a light training session yesterday, so I really need to see what the injury situation is".

Why Did The Ukraine Ban Russia's Eurovision Entry?

Last week, Ukrainian President Petro Poroshenko reaffirmed the ban, saying his country acted consistently towards all who entered Crimea without asking Ukraine's permission.

Tensions between the two countries were already high after Ukraine's 2016 contestant, Jamala, took home the top prize with a song alluding to the mass deportations that occurred under Joseph Stalin. In 2009, when Moscow were hosting - a year after after the Russo-Georgia war - Georgia withdrew its entry after the organisers told it to change the lyrics and title of their song We Don't Wanna Put In after it was perceived as too much of a pointed criticism of President Putin.

Workers install lighting at International Exhibition Center in Kiev on April 11, 2017, during preparations for the Eurovision Song Contest 2017 to be held in the Ukrainian capital from May 9 to 13.

42 nations will compete, with Austria, Denmark and the United Kingdom celebrating 60 years of participation. Each semi-final 3,5 million viewers, plus 5,5 for the final.

So far only one betting house is offering odds on which unlucky country will come last, but for the record they are suggesting San Marino, Lithuania and Malta are in the running for this less coveted honour.

Like this: