Published: Sat, April 15, 2017
Tech | By Constance Martin

Jaguar wins the World Car of the Year award

Jaguar wins the World Car of the Year award

And as well as taking away the top award, the F-Pace also scooped this year's statute in the design category - an award open to any vehicle nominated in any category.

The luxurious performance SUV, Jaguar F-Pace has just been awarded the World Car of the Year 2017.

Dr Ralf Speth, Jaguar Land Rover chief executive, said: "The F-PACE was designed and engineered as a performance SUV with exceptional dynamics, everyday usability and bold design".

Mike Rutherford, Juror, Director and Vice-Chairman of the World Car Awards/World Car of the Year said: "Jaguar has done the unthinkable by first securing the World Car Design of the Year award, then lifting the big one - the overall World Car of the Year trophy".

"It's spacious, too, and - something I haven't mentioned yet, but perhaps the most important point of all - it looks fantastic". While accepting its awards, Jaguar announced the F-Pace is the fastest selling model the company ever produced. Offered in Pure, Prestige, R-Sport and First Edition, the F-Pace is brought to India as completely Built Unit (CBU). The category winners were confirmed during the start of this year's New York International Auto Show.

However, in the luxury vehicle category, it was business as usual with the Mercedes E-Class scooping this year's award, ahead of the Volvo S90 and the BMW 5-Series.

Malayalam Compulsory Till Class 10 In Kerala Schools
We have students from underprivileged backgrounds studying here and we can not impose a blanket rule to only speak English. But the High Court had set it aside, after it was argued that students from other states also studied in schools in Kerala.

Mercedes Benz E-Class was victor of the World Luxury Car award.

A panel of 75 influential motoring journalists from 24 countries all voted on which auto they believed deserved the award before crowning the Jag the champion. The auto show opens at the Jacob Javits Center in NY for the press on April 12 and will be open to the public from April 14 to 23. Topping the list is Jaguar F-Pace. This is the first time an SUV has won the award in 13-year history of the awards.

In 2016, the XE sports saloon was a finalists for World Car Design of the Year title but was beaten by the Mazda MX-5.

However perhaps the greatest surprise at this year's awards reveal that the Toyota Prius hybrid grabbed the Green Car Award.

If performance is what you're into, the Porsche Boxster and Cayman has been named the Performance Car of the Year, topping the McLaren 570S and Audi R8 Spyder.

Like this: